march favorites!

A MONTH PASSES BY SO QUICKLY… AKA it’s been a month since I last blogged. I APOLOGIZE! Whenever I’m working on so many passion/side projects and dealing with other important life stuff at the same time, I push some other things to the back of my mind… and my blog happened to be one of them.

HOWEVER, I will be a better blogger this upcoming month. I have a lot of drafts that I need to finish writing/are waiting to be posted, but let’s start with this! Below are my favorites for March 2017. I know, it’s already April but better late than never! I feel like this month flew by sooooo quickly and I wasn’t as productive as I wanted to be. Therefore, this might not be as elaborate as my previous favorites post, but I still have some things I’d like to share that are ~fave-worthy~.

1. Hand Lettering

img_2124.jpg

I’ve joined the craze that’s sweeping the creative community: hand lettering. I used to see people’s lettering on the Internet, Instagram, on everything tbh, and think, “Wow, I want to do this so bad! But my handwriting is not nice enough.” I wanted to change this thinking and learn how to hand letter like them. Besides, I don’t have any other hobbies than laying in bed and watching YouTube videos or Netflix, so it would be fun to pick up! Last summer, I bought a hand-lettering kit from Brit + Co with four Tombow dual brush pens, some nice paper, and other supplies, but I never used it regularly until this month. I felt very intimidated by the brush pens; I didn’t know how to use them, and everything I wrote didn’t look like anything I saw on the Internet. At the beginning of this month, I finally read/watched some tutorials & learned how to use the brush pens correctly… and now I’m obsessed! I’ve been asking my sister, cousin, boyfriend, basically anyone who will listen to give me words/phrases to hand letter.

And I took it one step further and learned how to digitize the hand-lettering on Adobe Illustrator for graphic design purposes–thanks Brit + Co for the video tutorial! It’s such a tedious process and I’m slowly becoming more efficient at it.

I just recently learned I can do digital hand lettering via the Procreate app on my iPad Air, but I’m waiting until I get my ~fancier~ stylus in the mail so I can really unlock its full potential, although I have played around with it a little bit.

Untitled_Artwork
Made on Procreate!

BUUUT if you want to see some more hand lettering I’ve done & future traditional, digitized, or Procreate hand lettering, follow my Instagram specifically for these artsy endeavors! @izitryingtobeartsy

2. Miraculous: Tales of Ladybug & Cat Noir

miraculous

OKAY, BEFORE Y’ALL SAY ANYTHING… yes, this is a kid’s show. But I’m obsessed with the concept, the art, the characters… so it’s a favorite.

I heard about the show through my sister’s tweets, and when I asked her about it she practically begged me to watch it (so she could have someone to talk about it with). It’s originally a French cartoon but it’s on Netflix with different dubs/subs. The story follows two classmates–Marinette, a normal teenage girl who is easily anxious, and Adrien, a teenage male model that wants to have a normal life–who both possess Miraculous, items that gives them superpowers. An evil man with a Miraculous turns their friends & townspeople into different villains when they experience a negative emotion, and it’s up to Ladybug & Chat/Cat Noir (depending on if you’re watching in French or English) to save the day! And, of course, outside of the crime-fighting there is typical school drama (that I live for tbh).

FullSizeRender 2

Because it is a kid’s show, the episode format is the same every time so it’s easy for the little ones to follow along and it can get predictable or boring at times. There seems to be an overall plot, which makes it worth to watch, but there isn’t much progress in the overall plot until the end of the season. However, it’s still a very fun and entertaining show to watch! I even got my boyfriend to watch some of the episodes with me, although he won’t admit that he likes it hehe. And the theme song is SO CATCHY. I can’t stop singing/humming it.

Season 2 is set to air sometime this summer. I was reading some articles online about this next season & it looks like there will be movement in the plot so I’m excited! I’m sure I’ll be one of the few adults looking forward to the premiere LOL.

3. Starbucks Green Tea Latte

IMG_2139

I am not a coffee drinker. I love the smell of coffee but the taste of it does not really please me; I find even the sweetest drinks are too bitter for me and the taste just sits in my mouth uncomfortably for moments afterwards. If I go to Starbucks, I usually order a tea drink. My go-to used to be Iced Black Tea Lemonade but now I think I’ll alternate between that and their Iced Green Tea Lattes. With light ice and soy milk, to be specific; I learned early on that having it with regular milk makes my tummy feel unpleasant.

One day earlier this month I needed a pick-me-up so I ordered the drink… and now I’m addicted. I live across the street from a Starbucks so my routine a few days of the week is to order through the app, stop by, pick up a drink, and take it with me to work. Not to mention, there are those bonus stars days and the bonus star bingo that’s been happening to enable going to Starbucks even more (AND I’M ALMOST DONE, I just need the middle space to complete it!!). So all these factors have contributed to this Green Tea Latte addiction the past month.

I hope this is a habit I can break soon (since it’s a lot of $$$ and having that Starbucks across the street is too convenient), but until then it is what it is. Sigh (contently because it’s so delicious).

4. My Hero Academia

myheroacademia

Yes, another anime on my monthly favorites and one to add to the small but growing list of anime shows I’ve watched (14 by my current count, although I might be missing some). My kind-of-a-weeb-but-not-really boyfriend decided to rewatch it because it was finally on Crunchyroll and I decided to watch along with him. My Hero Academia is one of his favorite animes, so you can imagine his excitement when we sat down after dinner to watch. And I can see why this is one of his favorites!!! In this world, most of the population has a Quirk, some kind of supernatural ability (and they don’t have to be amazing… the main character’s mom has limited telekinesis aka she can only bring small objects to herself). And with these abilities there are villains who use these powers for evil, but there are also heroes who use their powers to combat them. Deku is Quirkless but still wants to become a hero and go to a specialized school for heroes. And small spoiler alert: he is on his way to hero-dom!

A lot of the anime I’ve watched seem to be around a central theme: to chase your dreams, no matter how impossible they seem at the moment. Don’t listen to the negative things others are saying: focus on the positive and you’ll be able to reach your goals. Besides the action and entertainment from the anime, the show conveys this message early on and has you rooting for Deku as he continues his journey.

plusultra
Made with Procreate & Photoshop!

Season 2 just premiered today (as I’m typing this, it’s April 1st) and we watched it right when it aired on Crunchyroll (which was at 2 or 3 AM). This upcoming arc is one of my boyfriend’s favorite parts of the manga, so he’s looking forward to seeing it come to life in the anime. I’m looking forward to seeing how tf Deku is going to even get through these next few things planned in the show. PLUS ULTRA!!!

5. Eyebrow Threading

IMG_2026

Would you believe me if I said I didn’t start really caring for my brows until this month? I had my brows waxed once last November by my friend who recently became a licensed esthetician and loved the look of my brows, but never had another session of any eyebrow upkeep due to time. Earlier this month I noticed how horrendous my brows were and after yoga I spontaneously decided to try getting them threaded at the place next door, LashBar SD. And it was life-changing. I like to look in the mirror & see how nice my eyebrows look without all that pesky hair in the annoying places.

I have a low pain tolerance so I still find myself tearing up a lot, but the end result is worth it. I think it’s more “painful” than waxing, but I had these red patches of irritated skin/rashes show up around my brows after waxing that one time and nothing of the sort with threading so far, so I think this is the best maintenance method for me. I’ve had two sessions now with the same lady & she remembered me from the first time!!! I’m very impressed with how she cares for my brows each session & knows what I want to grow out and what kind of shape I want and how to facilitate these things. With maintained brows, I feel more beautiful (for myself!!! My boyfriend doesn’t even notice the difference LOL).


And that wraps up my favorites for the month. Have you tried/watched any of the above things? What are your favorites for March? I’m hoping April will be a better month for me mentally, physically, emotionally, and for my productivity so I’m always looking forward to exploring & trying new things–share them in the comments below!

much love,
izi

P.S. Check out my favorites from last month! 🙂

Leave a Reply

